Dundee marks dirt racing history

Aug 17, 2023 at 12:00 pm by Observer-Review

Dundee historic racers
DUNDEE--The history of racing in Dundee will be on display at the Seneca Street Park in the village, Saturday, Aug. 19 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
“Horses to Horsepower,” will showcase the tradition and family connections of racing. The event will feature a drivers round table discussion, memorabilia, and cars with their drivers available.
Racing began in Dundee in June of 1957 when over 1,000 fans attended the Dundee Fairgrounds for a 20-lap race.
The Dundee Speedway Club operated the track until Lin Hough became the first private owner in 1995. He owned the track until 2005. Hough then sold the track to Dean Hoag, son of local racing legend Dutch Hoag, who owned the track for the next nine years.
In February of 2016, Tyler Siri of Horseheads announced the purchase of the Dundee oval, including the new name of Outlaw Speedway.
The tradition of racing continues today with many memorial and special events at the track.
Sections: NEWS 1